Related Tags

Richard Rhodes: 2010 National Book FestivalAdd to Queue

  • Posted by : LibraryOfCongress

  • I
  • Date posted : Jan 01, 1970


  • #
  • Share
  • Share

Author Richard Rhodes appears at the 2010 National Book Festival. Speaker Biography: Richard Rhodes is the author or editor of more than 20 books, including "The Making of the Atomic Bomb," which won a Pulitzer Prize in Nonfiction, a National Book Award and a National Book Critics Circle Award; "Dark Sun: The Making of the Hydrogen Bomb," which was shortlisted for a Pulitzer Prize in History; an investigation of the roots of private violence, "Why They Kill"; a personal memoir, "A Hole in the World"; a biography, "John James Audubon"; and four novels. He has received numerous fellowships for research and writing, including grants from the Ford Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, the MacArthur Foundation Program in International Peace and Security and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. He has been a visiting scholar at Harvard and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a host and correspondent for documentaries on public television's "Frontline" and "American Experience" series. A third volume of nuclear history, "Arsenals of Folly: The Making of the Nuclear Arms Race," examines the international politics of nuclear weapons throughout the Cold War. A fourth and final volume, "The Twilight of the Bombs: Recent Challenges, New Dangers and the Prospects of a World Without Nuclear Weapons" (Knopf), has just been published. Rhodes lives in California.

See More...

Add a comment, ask a question...

 Post to Facebook