Related Tags

Marilyn Nelson and Anis Mojgani - The Distinguished Writer SeriesAdd to Queue

  • Posted by : WellesleyCollege

  • I
  • Date posted : Jan 01, 1970


  • #
  • Share
  • Share

THE NEWHOUSE CENTER FOR THE HUMANITIES AT WELLESLEY COLLEGE PRESENTS: Marilyn Nelson is a poet, translator and children's book author. Her poetry collections include The Homeplace, which won the 1992 Anisfield-Wolf Award and The Fields of Praise: New and Selected Poems, which won the 1998 Poets' Prize and was a finalist for the 1997 national Book Award. Her honors include two NEA creative writing fellowships, the 1990 Connecticut Arts Award, a Fulbright teaching fellowship, a 2001 Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Frost Medal from the Poetry Society of America. She is a professor emeritus of English at the University of Connecticut and the founder and director of Soul Mountain Retreat, and was Poet Laureate of the State of Connecticut from 2001--2006. Anis Mojgani is a two-time national Poetry Slam champion and winner of the International World Cup Poetry Slam. He has performed at numerous universities, festivals, and venues as varied as the House of Blues and the united nations, and his work has appeared on HBO, NPR, and in the pages of such journals as Rattle, Used Furniture Review, Muzzle, and The Lumberyard. A founding member of the touring Poetry Revival, he is also the author of two poetry collections, both published by Write Bloody Publishing: Over the Anvil We Stretch and The Feather Room.

See More...

Add a comment, ask a question...

 Post to Facebook